Lent 2015.3: Poverty Part 2

I recently had my students compare the mothers in Richard Wright’s autobiography, “Rights to the Streets of Memphis” and Langston Hughes’s poem, “Mother to a Son.”  As the class discussion turned toward poverty I interrupted the conversation and said:

“I have no idea what it’s like to live in poverty.”

A student quickly replied:

“It’s nice to hear a teacher admit that.”

This made me pause and reflect. I’ve been to impoverished areas of various US cities, Appalachia, Mexico, and Honduras.  But I really don’t know anything about living in poverty.  I’ve never questioned whether I would have a next meal. Ever. That’s true for many people that I know.

Wright and Hughe’s captures the struggle of those living in  American poverty that is as  real today as it was in the early 20th century. Perhaps, Lent might be a time for the Christian to consider the widening wage gaps, income inequality, and the slashing of safety net programs that make it more difficult for people to survive.

1 thought on “Lent 2015.3: Poverty Part 2”

  1. I truly appreciate this blog post especially your honesty with your students there are not many good and honest teachers anymore I am glad that you are open with your students. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

